Governing Council

Governing Council

 Hallett Cove School encourages active participation by parents and community members in the school’s decision making processes, indeed, one of the indicators of a successful school is the degree to which parents and the school are working in partnership to improve the learning outcomes of students.

The school’s governance and strategic directions are provided by the Governing Council which consists of up to 20 people. The composition of the council includes the Principal, three staff members, two students, one member of the Parents and Friends Committee and up to 11 members elected by the school community. The Governing council also has community representatives, including the Member for Black, the Hon David Speirs and representatives from the City of Marion council, Mr Ian Crossland.

Role of the Governing Council

 Governing Council meetings are generally held at Hallett Cove School in Weeks 4 and 8 of each school term.

 The meetings set the broad direction of the school, including:

  • Involve the school community in the governance of the school, helping to set the vision and strategic planning
  • Review policies for the school
  • Determine the application of the total funding resources of the school
  • Monitor and review the Services Agreement with DFE
  • Report to the school community and the Minister in relation to the strategic plan, the finances of the school and its operational plans.
  • Governing Councils are involved in deliberating upon issues such as school finances and expenditure, grounds, uniform, canteen, Out of Hours School Care and health and safety.

Governing Council Members

Parent Representatives
Stephen Branch Chairperson / Parent Representative March 2023
Jay Golley Deputy Chairperson / Parent Representative March 2024
Kym Pedler Treasurer / Parent Representative March 2023
Felicity Bieze Parent Representative March 2024
Claire Bowden Parent Representative March 2023
Sophie Disley Parent Representative March 2024
Gary Kupke Parent Representative March 2024
Paul Sincock Parent Representative March 2023
Heather Anderson Parent Representative March 2024
Student Representatives
Coby Hard Student Representative – Student President December 2022
Max Cocks Student Representative – Student President December 2022
Community Representatives
David Speirs Community Representative – Member for Black Ongoing
Ian Crossland Community Representative – Councillor for City of Marion Ongoing
Staff Representatives
Alyce Robertson Secretary / Staff Representative March 2023
Craig Duguid Staff Representative March 2023
Liz vandenBrink Staff Representative March 2023
Ex-officio Representative
Tony Hall Principal  Ongoing


Governing Council Meeting Dates 2022

Tues 24 May, Wed 29 June, Thursday 18 August, Thursday 29 September, Thursday 10 November, Thursday 15 December